

Welcome to Franklin Pierce University,

The mission of Franklin Pierce University charges our community with the creation of a student-centered higher education opportunity for those committed to academic and personal achievement. Our goal is to prepare our students as citizens and leaders of conscience and we are justifiably proud of our innovative approach to education, the award-winning faculty among our ranks and the quality of our academic programs.

Our academic home in Rindge consists of 1,200 acres of woodland and waterfront with dozens of classroom and athletic facilities, residences, administrative and special purpose buildings. The current undergraduate student population on our Rindge campus is approximately 1,500 and the University serves an additional 1,200 graduate and professional studies students on our five satellite campuses across the State of New Hampshire and on our Goodyear, Arizona campus.

The land on which the University is situated has had a rich and colorful history. It was the home of a nineteenth-century seaman and may have even been a stop on the Underground Railroad. At the turn of the twentieth century it became the residence of a wealthy mahogany importer and was later used by the Boy Scouts as a summer camp. For a brief time the property was the home of a silent movie star and changed ownership several times before being purchased by the University in 1962.

In our forty plus year history, Franklin Pierce University has had only four presidents. Founded in 1962 by Frank DiPietro as a four-year, coeducational, non-denominational institution, the University was named after the fourteenth President of the United States – the only president to have come from New Hampshire. Dr. DiPietro served as president for thirteen years during the critical time in which the University established its academic programming, attracted top faculty, and moved to its current location. In 1975, former Governor of New Hampshire, Walter Peterson, became president and embarked on an ambitious program to expand the University's enrollment, academic offerings and physical plant. Over the course of the next two decades, Dr. Peterson's efforts resulted in the design of the University's award-winning *Individual and Community* curriculum and the expansion of its programmatic offerings to five satellite campuses across the state.

In 1995, Dr. George J. Hagerty was appointed the University's third president. He orchestrated the development of three academic, interdisciplinary Institutes: The Monadnock Institute of Nature, Place and Culture; the New England Center for Civic Life; and the Center for Applied Public Opinion Research. In addition, Dr. Hagerty's efforts resulted in the first graduate programs offered by the University, the first comprehensive Capital Campaign and the construction of the Marlin Fitzwater Center for Communication. Dr. James Birge was appointed the fourth President and assumed his duties on June 15, 2009. Dr. Birge most recently served as the Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer at Wheeling Jesuit University in Wheeling, West Virginia, where he also served as Interim President from 2006 to 2007. President Birge's background has a strong foundation in service learning and he embraces the University's mission of developing Leaders of Conscience who are responsible members of their communities and apply the skills they have to improve the lives of others.

From our modest beginnings in 1962 to our nationally-recognized university of great expectations today, Franklin Pierce University remains dedicated to our highest goal – the development of intellect and character. And in that pursuit, we welcome and encourage the active participation of every member of our community.